Home Page

Foundation Stage Curriculum

The Foundation Stage Curriculum


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum is the statutory framework that sets out children’s learning and development in the Foundation Stage.  It gives children a broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life. 

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through seven areas of learning and development.


Children should mostly develop the three prime areas first:


  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development


These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.   As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in four specific areas:


  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design 


At the end of the year we use these goals to assess your child’s level of development. If they are confident and secure within these goals they are assessed as expected. If they are working towards these goals they are emerging and if they are working above these goals they are exceeding. These assessments are based on what the child can do independently.


We consider ourselves partners in your child’s learning.  The activities that you do with your child at home are important in supporting their learning and development, and have a really long lasting effect on your child’s learning as they progress through school.  For example, talking, listening, reading, singing nursery rhymes, cooking and baking or playing outside with them. 


You can find out more about the Early Years Foundation Stage which includes the early learning goals on The Foundation Year’s website also includes a range of resources and contacts.


Please click on the link below to see an overview of Curriculum Planning in Foundation Stage.